Change of Address

If any of the following apply to you please follow the procedures listed below:
  1. Moved from Merrimac
    • If you moved to another community in Massachusetts after January 1 you still owe excise tax to Merrimac
    • If you moved to another state and registered your vehicle there, you must notify the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) within 30 days of moving and return your Massachusetts plates to the registry then submit to us:
      • Late Return Receipt
      • Copy of New Registration from other state
  2. Vehicle is Garaged in Another Town
    • If your vehicle is garaged in another town, it is the responsibility of the registered owner to promptly notify the RMV of any address changes
    • If you vehicle is listed with the Registry as being garaged in Merrimac as of Jan. 1, you still owe excise tax to Merrimac
Note: By law, you must notify the Massachusetts RMV within 30 days of any change of residence, mailing or garaging address.